Friday, September 04, 2009

who cares

Haven't posted in about six months, not that anyone is paying attention. If I type words in a blog that no one reads, does the blog really exist? Perhaps this is all just in my mind.

Monday, April 20, 2009

Five years on...

Ha, five years since my last post...different job, different living space, different car, same great cats, better golf game, same dependable DEW...speaking of you, do you ever check in here anymore?

Amazing that I seem to talk way too much, yet when I sit down here, I can't seem to come up with much to say. That probably should tell me that I shouldn't talk so much, because I'm probably not saying anything of interest anyways. See what I mean?

TODAYS THOUGHTS:

1. I eat way too much.
2. Ordinary People was a really good movie, but as I recall, the book was even better.
3. I may actually get to the point where I'm not embarassed by my golf game.
4. Flying to Seattle on Thursday...note to self, stay away from plane crash movies and news stories.
5. Feeling alone stinks.

Sunday, November 07, 2004

Hey, a new post...

I turned forty a couple weeks ago, but there's no way I feel that age...the Right guy won the presidential election last week, but I think I'm more pleased about Daschle's defeat in South Dakota...my beloved Huskies are gonna go 0-8 in the Pac-10, good thing we're a basketball school...I cannot find my portable phone, it's in my apt. somewhere, I think...switched food on my cats and their stomachs were not pleased, I feel kinda bad about that, but they seem to have forgiven me...my Niners are 1-7, not a good football year for this fan...D-Dub made a great cheesecake for me and I'm finding it hard not to eat the whole thing in a 24 hour period...was it more fun to watch the Red Sox win or to watch the Yankees historic folding act...saw I Heart Huckabees and here's my 18 word review, "Jude Law is gorgeous, but please, please don't see this movie, it's Hollywood garbage at it's best/worst"...I wanna see The Mechanic, D-Dub wants to see The Motorcycle Diaries, when in the world are we going to be able to see two movies...this weekend perhaps, I do have Monday the 15th off, if I want it...Arizona played Team Georgia in basketball today, I thought they were gonna be Russian Georgians, they didn't look Russian to me, not even a token white guy on that squad...I think that's it for now, though I'll add to this when I think of more to say...gonna go look for my phone now.

Friday, September 10, 2004

The Hair Comes Next

Okay...i've been informed by a kindly reader (there's only one of you that I know of) that "Whistling preceeds long hair growth out of the nose." Great news...add nose hair clippers to my budget.

Thursday, September 09, 2004

More Syringes Needed

Okay, so I work at a medical manufacturing company. I'm walking down the hallway and I see a box sitting outside an office door. The box is marked "backup syringes". What in the world is this about?

Okay...this is scary...when I breath, my nose has been whistling lately. I don't recall this ever happening, until just recently...i think this has something to do with my approaching fortieth birthday...i'm sure of that.

Tuesday, August 31, 2004

KP's Olympic Wrap Up

Nobody pays for my opinion but I am free to share it despite. I've had more requests than usual (that would be one request) for an Olympic wrap up in my own cynical and jaded, yet insightful viewpoint. To calm the maddening crowd, here you go...

Most inspiring
I was moved by the Brazilian marathoner, Vanderlei De Lima, who was attacked by a defrocked Irish priest during the race. Lima had every right to be angry and/or disappointed with the situation, as he was leading the race at the time of the attack. Lima, however, chose to "play airplane" as he ran the last 20 meters of the race and accepted his his 3rd place finish with smiles and playfulness. What a contrast to, say, Paul Hamm (see Most Disappointing).

Watching Fani Halkia, a Greek athlete, win the 400 meter hurdles was very touching. I have always appreciated smaller countries winning big races, but a win like this is even more moving when the winning athlete represents the host country. Halkia won the 400 meter hurdles and celebrated with a stadium packed with Greek fans. It was a nice moment.

Unfortunately, the fact that Greece has had some track athletes involved with illegal performance enhancing substances did taint Halkia's win in my mind. Fair or unfair, that certainly came to mind.


Most overrated
I've decided I don't like this topic, but I'm gonna go with it anyways. I think overrated is the wrong term...perhaps, blown out of proportion is better. That said...here's my opinion, and I know how unpopular it will be with many people.

Yes, the softball team dominated in a huge way. However, is this an amazing feat or does it represent the fact that the rest of the world doesn't put much time, effort, or money into softball? Why doesn't anybody take into account that they had no formidable competition?

This isn't the USA softball team's fault but wouldn't the gold mean much more if the team had some tough games and overcame some adversity...but they didn't have to, it was a cake walk. Unfortunately for the softball team, their biggest news day will come when they lose a medal round game in some future Olympic games. That will be the big story, because, for at least one day, they will have some semblance of competition.

Most disappointing
Paul Hamm...hands down...not so much because he kept the gold but because he hasn't shown any empathy for Yang Tae-young of South Korea. Hamm could have at least feigned some concern or some willingness to cooperate and consider the right thing. Upon watching Hamm in interviews, he was smug and reeked of selfishness and...oh wait, isn't this what we've come to expect from US athletes?

That's all I have for today, kids. Coming next...If you have to wear makeup, could it actually be a sport?

Wednesday, August 18, 2004

The World Has Been Waiting

I've been under such pressure to update this blog...Sammy Sosa even mentioned it in a postgame press conference...so, just for Sammy, here it is (corkfree).

I'm a temp in a world of temps. I think 40% of the workers here are temps. Well, maybe 30%, but that's no exaggeration. I'm sure someone has done research on this topic...is it more advantageous to hire temps or permanent employees? Let me know what you think...really...i'm interested.


Olympic questions
1. If an event calls for 'athletes' to wear make up (women's gymnastics, synchronized swimming), could it really be a sport?
2. Why do the women beach volleyball players wear what amounts to a bikini and the guys wear shorts and tank tops?

Olympic comments:
1. I find myself rooting for some US athletes and against others. I think the media bias of the USA press adds to that. If a US athlete is hyped by the press, I prefer that they don't live up to the hype. Aren't we all sick of hype.
2. So far, the best part of the Olympics has been the Iraqi men's soccer team. Pay attention, they're 2-0.
3. The young Greek male divers that won a gold was pretty special, too.
4. Also, the shot put is being held in the same place where the ancient greek games were held. It was a great idea by the organizing committee to do an event in the ancient tradition. The spectators will even stand, as there are no stands/bleachers, etc. I'm looking forward to watching the shot put finals tonight. Did i tell you I threw the shot put in jr. high. I was pretty good...only came in second once and that was in the county meet. In high school, softball was the same season as track and field, so I chose softball. But, as we all know, I was built to throw heavy objects through the air.

That's all for now...cheers.