Tuesday, August 31, 2004

KP's Olympic Wrap Up

Nobody pays for my opinion but I am free to share it despite. I've had more requests than usual (that would be one request) for an Olympic wrap up in my own cynical and jaded, yet insightful viewpoint. To calm the maddening crowd, here you go...

Most inspiring
I was moved by the Brazilian marathoner, Vanderlei De Lima, who was attacked by a defrocked Irish priest during the race. Lima had every right to be angry and/or disappointed with the situation, as he was leading the race at the time of the attack. Lima, however, chose to "play airplane" as he ran the last 20 meters of the race and accepted his his 3rd place finish with smiles and playfulness. What a contrast to, say, Paul Hamm (see Most Disappointing).

Watching Fani Halkia, a Greek athlete, win the 400 meter hurdles was very touching. I have always appreciated smaller countries winning big races, but a win like this is even more moving when the winning athlete represents the host country. Halkia won the 400 meter hurdles and celebrated with a stadium packed with Greek fans. It was a nice moment.

Unfortunately, the fact that Greece has had some track athletes involved with illegal performance enhancing substances did taint Halkia's win in my mind. Fair or unfair, that certainly came to mind.


Most overrated
I've decided I don't like this topic, but I'm gonna go with it anyways. I think overrated is the wrong term...perhaps, blown out of proportion is better. That said...here's my opinion, and I know how unpopular it will be with many people.

Yes, the softball team dominated in a huge way. However, is this an amazing feat or does it represent the fact that the rest of the world doesn't put much time, effort, or money into softball? Why doesn't anybody take into account that they had no formidable competition?

This isn't the USA softball team's fault but wouldn't the gold mean much more if the team had some tough games and overcame some adversity...but they didn't have to, it was a cake walk. Unfortunately for the softball team, their biggest news day will come when they lose a medal round game in some future Olympic games. That will be the big story, because, for at least one day, they will have some semblance of competition.

Most disappointing
Paul Hamm...hands down...not so much because he kept the gold but because he hasn't shown any empathy for Yang Tae-young of South Korea. Hamm could have at least feigned some concern or some willingness to cooperate and consider the right thing. Upon watching Hamm in interviews, he was smug and reeked of selfishness and...oh wait, isn't this what we've come to expect from US athletes?

That's all I have for today, kids. Coming next...If you have to wear makeup, could it actually be a sport?

Wednesday, August 18, 2004

The World Has Been Waiting

I've been under such pressure to update this blog...Sammy Sosa even mentioned it in a postgame press conference...so, just for Sammy, here it is (corkfree).

I'm a temp in a world of temps. I think 40% of the workers here are temps. Well, maybe 30%, but that's no exaggeration. I'm sure someone has done research on this topic...is it more advantageous to hire temps or permanent employees? Let me know what you think...really...i'm interested.


Olympic questions
1. If an event calls for 'athletes' to wear make up (women's gymnastics, synchronized swimming), could it really be a sport?
2. Why do the women beach volleyball players wear what amounts to a bikini and the guys wear shorts and tank tops?

Olympic comments:
1. I find myself rooting for some US athletes and against others. I think the media bias of the USA press adds to that. If a US athlete is hyped by the press, I prefer that they don't live up to the hype. Aren't we all sick of hype.
2. So far, the best part of the Olympics has been the Iraqi men's soccer team. Pay attention, they're 2-0.
3. The young Greek male divers that won a gold was pretty special, too.
4. Also, the shot put is being held in the same place where the ancient greek games were held. It was a great idea by the organizing committee to do an event in the ancient tradition. The spectators will even stand, as there are no stands/bleachers, etc. I'm looking forward to watching the shot put finals tonight. Did i tell you I threw the shot put in jr. high. I was pretty good...only came in second once and that was in the county meet. In high school, softball was the same season as track and field, so I chose softball. But, as we all know, I was built to throw heavy objects through the air.

That's all for now...cheers.